The Pleasure Gardens in 1939

This enlarged section of the postcard reproduced below shows the Swingboats.

Kathleen Watts wrote of her recollections of the Victoria Pleasure Gardens on the Facebook Group “Memories of Burgess Hill”. I have copied her comments here with her permission.

The only thing I remember about Victoria Pleasure Gardens was being taken there when it was almost derelict. My Mum and Dad took my sister and I down there. It was a sorry sight, the boating lake was scattered with broken and half submerged boats and some Bullrushes growing in the water. The only safe thing that could be used was the Swingboats, everything else was just rotting away. Such a shame because although I was only five at the time (1939), I can still remember the lovely ground.

Leave a Reply

